Database archiving meets Amazon

Thursday October 12th, 2017Chronos, Database Archiving

Amazon S3 and Chronos V5 now offer perfect interaction for successful archiving

 

For some time now, a de facto standard has become prevalent in the world of storage systems: Amazon S3. The mail order company Amazon started its storage web service in 2011. The success story of this product is overwhelming. Numerous reputable companies have been counting on S3 ever since and store their data in this highly available cloud solution.

 

Chronos, the solution for database archiving of CSP GmbH & Co. KG, now takes up this service in its new version 5. The software places inactive data from databases into a storage system, thus saving costs. The manufacturer offers to its customers to quickly and easily store data from many diverse databases in Amazon S3 via Chronos. Previously, this has only been possible with other storage systems such as EMC, SAMFS and HSM. Amazon guarantees a secure storage of data in the cloud. Therefore, a reliable storage of the data saved via Chronos is still provided and all compliance guidelines, internal ones as well as those stipulated by lawmakers are continuously met. Chronos guarantees long-term readability and revision-proof archiving of data.

CHRONOS-V5-Amazon-S3

Since, as compared to other storage systems, S3 is a cloud application, maintenance is the sole responsibility of Amazon. This leads to tremendous cost saving with regard to hardware and personnel. A further advantage in the interaction of Chronos and Amazon: Users may access the archived data worldwide.

 

Apart from a nearly limitless scalability of the disc storage, Amazon S3 is also characterized by an extremely high availability of 99.9 per cent. At the same time, operation is 100 per cent done by Amazon, which means that costs arise only for the used storage space.

 

Something that Chronos users can also expect once the new version 5 is out: Archiving of Postgre-SQL-databases will be supported. Moreover, the user management system has been expanded by numerous features. In addition, much has been done on the interface to make the software more intuitive. For example, it can now be customized by applying user-specific colors and offers the possibility to display several illustrations, e.g. regarding job details and archive overview, at the same time.

 

If you are interested, this video offers a variety of further information on Chronos.

Datenbankarchivierung meets Amazon

Donnerstag, der 12. Oktober 2017Chronos, Datenbankarchivierung

Amazon S3 und Chronos V5 liefern perfektes Zusammenspiel für erfolgreiche Archivierung

 

Seit einiger Zeit setzt sich in der Welt der Storage-Systeme ein de facto-Standard durch: Amazon S3. 2011 hat der Versandhändler Amazon seinen Storage-Webservice, Amazon S3, gestartet. Die Erfolgsgeschichte des Produkts ist überwältigend. Zahlreiche namhafte Firmen setzen seither auf S3 und speichern ihre Daten in dieser hochverfügbaren Cloud-Lösung.

 

Chronos, die Lösung zur Datenbank-Archivierung der CSP GmbH & Co. KG, greift diesen Service künftig mit der neuen Version 5 auf. Die Software legt inaktive Daten aus Datenbanken kostensparend in einem Storage-System ab. Seinen Kunden ermöglicht der Hersteller, über Chronos einfach und schnell Daten aus unterschiedlichsten Datenbanken in Amazon S3 abzulegen. Zuvor war dies nur mit anderen Storage-Systemen, wie EMC, SAMFS und HSM, möglich. Amazon garantiert eine sichere Aufbewahrung von Daten in der Cloud. Somit ist weiterhin eine zuverlässige Ablage der über Chronos abgelegten Daten gewährleistet und es werden weiterhin alle Compliance-Richtlinien sowohl intern also auch vom Gesetzgeber beachtet. Chronos garantiert eine langzeitlesbare, revisionssichere Archivierung von Daten.

CHRONOS DB-Archivierung AmazonS3 Cloud ArchivierungDa es sich im Vergleich zu anderen Storage-Systemen bei S3 um eine Cloud-Anwendung handelt, liegt die Wartung rein bei Amazon. Dies führt zu erheblichen Einsparungen bei Hardware und Personal. Ein weiteres Plus beim Zusammenspiel von Chronos und Amazon: Anwender können weltweit auf die archivierten Daten zugreifen.

 

Amazon S3 zeichnet neben einer nahezu unbegrenzten Skalierbarkeit des Plattenspeichers ebenfalls eine extrem hohe Verfügbarkeit von 99,9 % aus. Der Betrieb liegt dabei zu 100 % auf Seiten Amazons, wodurch nur Kosten für den verwendeten Speicher anfallen.

 

Was Chronos-Anwender mit Veröffentlichung der neuen Version 5 außerdem erwarten dürfen: Künftig wird die Archivierung von Postgre-SQL-Datenbanken unterstützt. Das User Management System wurde zudem um zahlreiche Features erweitert. Auch zu Gunsten der Intuitivität hat sich an der Oberfläche eine Menge getan. So lässt sich diese zum Beispiel durch anwenderspezifische Farben individualisieren und bietet die Möglichkeit, mehrere Ansichten, etwa zu Jobdetails und Archivübersicht, gleichzeitig darzustellen.

 

In diesem Video finden Interessierte weitere Informationen über Chronos.