fbpx

Trend PostgreSQL: Chronos allows users to profit from Open Source Database

Friday November 9th, 2018Chronos, Database Archiving

    The open source database PostgreSQL has experienced a virtual rebirth some time ago. With this database, ambitious web services and software can be realized cost-free and also for companies. With Chronos version 5, PostgreSQL is now also available as a repository.

     Chronos DB archiving supports PostgreSQL

     

    With its initial release at the end of the 80s, the free, object-relational database management system PostgreSQL has experienced a long term of development. By now, the software offers numerous handy functions and has thus become one of the most comprehensive database systems.

     

    PostgreSQL as repository

     

    Among users, an increasing tendency to part with other database systems and to introduce PostgreSQL can be observed at the moment. Chronos, the software for archiving of databases of CSP GmbH & Co.KG has picked up on this trend for its users in version 5. For archiving of data and files, but most of all as a repository, as well, for example for saving of Chronos-specific meta data, Chronos now also supports PostgreSQL. Apart from PostgreSQL, Oracle, MSSQL, and DB2 are also supported by the software as repository databases.

     

    Disappearing license costs and easy switch

     

    A big advantage for all those you will rely on PostgreSQL in future: Saving of license costs. For many established database systems that are implemented in big companies, the license costs are enormous. PostgreSQL, however, is cost-free for all users. What makes the switch to PostgreSQL even easier is the SQL standard 2011 in which the system is mostly written. The syntax is built very similarly to other databases.

     

    Thus, the database archiving software Chronos supports one of the most-used open source databases. Apart from the archiving possibility of PostgreSQL, the import of datasets in PostgreSQL is also ensured.

     

    If you would like to learn more about Chronos, you can watch this video on Chronos with plenty of information.

Trend PostgreSQL: Chronos lässt User von Open Source Datenbank profitieren

Freitag, der 9. November 2018Chronos

Die Open Source Datenbank PostgreSQL erfährt seit einiger Zeit eine regelrechte Wiedergeburt. Kostenlos, auch für Unternehmen, lassen sich damit anspruchsvolle Webdienste und Software realisieren. Mit Chronos Version 5 ist PostgreSQL daher nun auch als Repository verfügbar.

 

Chronos DB Archivierung unterstützt PostgreSQL

 

Das freie, objektrelationale Datenbankmanagementsystem PostgreSQL hat mit seiner Erstveröffentlichung Ende der 80er Jahre eine lange Entwicklungszeit hinter sich. Mittlerweile schmückt sich die Software mit zahlreichen nützlichen Funktionen und wurde so zu einem der umfangreichsten Datenbank-Systeme.

 

PostgreSQL als Repository

 

Unter Usern lässt sich aktuell eine zunehmende Tendenz weg von anderen Datenbankensystemen hin zu PostgreSQL beobachten. Chronos, die Software zur Archivierung von Datenbanken der CSP GmbH & Co. KG, hat diesen Trend in Version 5 für seine User aufgegriffen. Zur Archivierung von Daten und Dateien, aber vor allem auch als Repository, etwa zur Speicherung von Chronos spezifischen Metadaten, unterstützt Chronos nun PostgreSQL. Als Repository-Datenbanken werden neben PostgreSQL auch Oracle, MSSQL und DB2 von der Software unterstützt.

 

Wegfallende Lizenzkosten und einfacher Umstieg

 

Großes Plus dadurch für alle, die künftig auf PostgreSQL setzen: Die Einsparung von Lizenzkosten. Bei vielen gängigen Datenbanksystemen, die in großen Unternehmen eingesetzt werden, fallen hohe Lizenzkosten an. PostgreSQL hingegen ist für alle User frei zugänglich. Was den Umstieg auf PostgreSQL zudem ungemein erleichtert, ist der SQL-Standard 2011, in dem das System weitestgehend geschrieben ist. Die Syntax ist ähnlich aufgebaut wie bei anderen Datenbanken.

 

Damit unterstützt die Datenbankarchivierungssoftware Chronos eine der am meist genutzten Open Source Datenbanken. Neben der Archivierungsmöglichkeit von PostgreSQL ist auch der Import von Datensätzen in PostgreSQL sichergestellt.

 

Wenn Sie mehr über Chronos erfahren möchten, steht Ihnen unser Video zur Verfügung.