How much budget do you save per year with your databases?

Friday September 20th, 2019Chronos

    Approximately 85% of all existing database contents are inactive. Switching them off or archiving them often sets free a tremendous potential for saving money. What cost-saving effects are possible in your company will now be revealed by the Chronos Potential Calculator.

     

    Chronos Potential Calculator Einsparpotential savings potential DB-ArchivierungIn times of big data, databases in companies often contain amounts of data that are not even remotely comprehensible. In order to utilize storage systems effectively, correct handling of databases that are no longer used is inevitable. Studies show that not even one fifth of all data in databases is actively used; the rest of it is inactive and frequently expands systems unnecessarily.

     

    You should thus regularly differentiate between active and passive data sets. This relieves your databases immensely and restores their initial performance capacity. Moreover, this is a good way to restrict the growing need of more saving space and therefore to spare the IT budget. Find out now how much saving potential lies dormant in your company with only a few clicks, using the Chronos Potential Calculator.

     

    As shown by the example of a well-known bank, installing and utilizing a software for archiving inactive databases made for savings amounting to almost € 250,000.00 in the first year alone. In this example, the beginning of the project dealt with two applications both with a data volume of 1.5 terabytes which was being held online in an Oracle-database. Only one third of the data was actually required online. Hence, two thirds of the data was transferred. The result: Performant, trim systems and enormous savings in storage space in Oracle.

     

    Tip for your database-strategy: Take care that the software that you use for optimizing your database stores your data in a way that offers long-term and regular access. Due to statutory requirements, data often must be available for a long time, but it does not need to be actively stored in databases.

     

    For more information, please click here.

Wie viel Budget sparen Sie jährlich mit Ihren Datenbanken?

Freitag, der 20. September 2019Chronos

    Rund 85% aller existierenden Datenbankinhalte sind inaktiv. Sie abzuschalten oder zu archivieren setzt meist erhebliches Einsparpotenzial frei. Welche Einspareffekte in Ihrem Unternehmen möglich sind, verrät Ihnen ab sofort der Chronos Potential Kalkulator.

     

    Chronos Potential Calculator Einsparpotential savings potential DB-Archivierung

    In Big Data-Zeiten beinhalten Datenbanken in Unternehmen oft eine unüberblickbare Menge an Daten. Um Storage Systeme effizient zu nutzen, gehört der korrekte Umgang mit nicht mehr genutzten Datenbanken dazu. Studien zufolge wird nicht einmal ein Fünftel aller Daten in Datenbanken aktiv genutzt, der Rest ist inaktiv und bläht Systeme vielfach unnötig auf.

     

    Zwischen aktiven und passiven Datensätzen sollten Sie regelmäßig differenzieren. Dies entlastet Datenbanken immens und stellt ihre ursprüngliche Leistungsfähigkeit wieder her. Zudem lässt sich somit der stetig wachsende Mehrbedarf an Speicherplatz eindämmen und das IT-Budget schonen. Wie viel Einsparpotenzial in Ihrem Unternehmen brach liegt, können Sie ab sofort mit wenigen Klicks selbst mit dem Chronos Potential Kalkulator herausfinden: https://www.csp-sw.de/chronos-2019/

     

    Wie das Beispiel einer namhaften Bank zeigt, waren mit Einsatz einer Software zur Archivierung inaktiver Datenbanken alleine im ersten Jahr Einsparungen von knapp 250.000 Euro möglich. Dabei ging es zu Projektbeginn um zwei Applikationen mit jeweils 1,5 Terabyte Datenvolumen, das online in einer Oracle Datenbank gehalten wurde. Online wurde nur ein Drittel der Daten benötigt. Somit wurden zwei Drittel der Daten ausgelagert. Das Ergebnis: Performante, schlankere Systeme und enorme Einsparungen beim Speicherplatz in Oracle.

     

    Tipp für Ihre Datenbank-Strategie: Achten Sie darauf, dass die Software, die sie zur Datenbank-Optimierung verwenden, Ihre Daten so auslagert, dass Sie sie regelmäßig und langfristig einsehen können. Denn aus gesetzlichen Gründen müssen Daten oft lange Zeit verfügbar, jedoch nicht mehr aktiv in Datenbanken gelagert werden.

     

    Mehr Informationen erhalten Sie unter www.datenbankarchivierung.de.